EDS Awareness Month-Accomplishments

May is Ehlers Danlos Syndrome awareness month, and I think alot of posts ive seen are about what people with EDS can’t do. Well, I want to tell you about some of the things we can.

Take me for instance: Last week I graduated from college. Thats so amazing! There were so many hospital visits, doctors appointments, medications, and mobility aids that sometimes I thought I wouldn’t be able to do it. There were classes where I had missed so many sessions that I thought I would fail because of absences. There were times when I couldn’t even get out of bed. But I graduated, I did it! And not in spite of EDS, but with EDS. Now, in the fall I’m going to rabbinical school. I’ll be a trans disabled rabbi and someone who can use all those experiences to make the Jewish community a better place.

Take my aunt (who is not biologically related to me): She has EDS, she has a BA and an MBA, a successful career in the medical industry,  a wonderful son (who doesn’t have EDS), 4 cats, and a loving family. Yes, EDS has robbed her of the ability to work, and she’s on SSI, but she recently met someone and is really happy.

Take all of our EDS online community: They fight constantly on behalf of EDSers, they look into new research, try new meds, invent new protocols, and help others. They are doctors, lawyers, students, teachers, friends, partners, children, parents,  and siblings. They are advocates and they are shining lights. I am so proud of all of them.

If you have EDS, what are your accomplishments? If you know someone with EDS, why are you proud of them?

Emet

Leave a comment