EDS Awareness Month Day #18: Friends

I am going to be honest with you, I am going out of my mind with boredom. My parents are on vacation and I am home all alone. I have friends but most of them are occupied with other things like vacation, work, school, or parental stuff. So I’m on my own. The thing about friends though, is that I guess I have two kinds of friends. Online support group chronic illness friends who are awesome, and real life friends who are equally as awesome but have very little clue about what it’s like to live with a chronic illness. Today, I had to explain to a friend that although I have money, most of it is spent on school and medical bills. When I’m around those friends I tend to overexert myself or do things I shouldn’t do. I had a 1/2 a chipoltle today and now i’m paying for it dearly. But I did it because before I got sick my friend and I used to go there all the time. It was our place. I just didn’t want to give that up. It’s hard to accept sometimes that you are sick and you have limits. Thats something no one wants to hear, especially someone who is 20 years old. But I need to have in depth conversations with my friends and just say “This is what is happening, it sucks, its not ok, and theres nothing we can do but adjust” those conversations are super hard to have, but we all have to have them. I know you all know this, but luckily we also have each other, the online friends to support and love each other through these things.

Leave a Reply

