Fatigue: EDS Awareness Month #4

I am so tired. Tired like you cant even keep your eyes open. But I slept almost 10 hours last night. I didn’t do much today. I wasn’t even out in the sun as much as I would have liked to. So why am i so tired. EDS depletes my energy. I have basically half the energy of a “normal” person. I cant do a whole day’s worth of stuff usually, and many days I need a nap in the middle in order to get all my work done in a day. Productive for me is being able to get to all my classes, do one or two online errands or a blog post, and wash off all my makeup and brush my teeth at the end of the day. Its just too much sometimes. Its finals now and I have a billion things to do and no energy and also no digestive capability for eating things that give me extra energy. So i just stumble along and hope that I can take a nap and then soon this will all be over and I can sleep forever (two weeks) until the next thing starts. Luckily, I also have an amazing support system of people who motivate me and help me to finish my work and to keep my health in check. Without those people I would probably be asleep most of the time or not be in school. Fatigue is a big part of why many people with EDS arent/did not go to school. I wish there was something we could do for this but like most EDS things its something you kind of have to deal with and find your own way out of.

Leave a Reply

