Personal: National Coming Out Day

BuzzFeed posted an article about the 37 times that trans people come out. I feel like I come out every time I step into a room. Every time someone asks my gender, every time I see someone who I have never met before, I come out. This is because I am not a binary trans man. I don’t wear a binder a lot of the time, I buy most of my clothes in the women’s department, and I have a very high and energetic personality.

 

My original coming out was shocking to everyone around me. No one knew what to think about whom or what I was. Most said that I was going through a phase, that I would get over it and go back to being the little girl everyone always knew. Some thought it was weird, but accepted it for the moment. However, there were two people that always believed in me from the beginning.

 

The first person is my best friend Michael. He has been my best friend since the first day of ninth grade. He was one of the first people I confided in when my dad told me he was a crossdresser, he was the first person I confided in when I was looking up trans* sites and he even went with me to the meetup of trans people where I found myself. The next day we were doing a project for school and I told him that I had to tell him something and he asked me if I was trans* and I said yes. That was the beginning of our journey, and he has never deserted me. He has always been there, with the right name (my first name was Jesse and he picked it) , pronouns,  and a smile to cheer me up.

 

The other person who has been the most supportive of my transition is my sister, Rachel. She is an amazing sister and even though we aren’t that close, she has been the one person in my family I know I can always count on to be there for me as a transitioning person. Ever since I told her I was trans* she has tried really hard to learn everything she can about trans* people and who we are. It makes me so happy.

 

The thing is that I know I’m blessed to have these people in my life. Most trans* people are shunned from there communities, and don’t have people close to support them. I am also blessed with a pretty awesome community of people who give me advice and wisdom.

 

For coming out day I want to express my gratitude for my friends and family who support me. I want to tell everyone out there that they don’t have to come out if they don’t want to. Coming out is a personal choice. 

One thought on “Personal: National Coming Out Day

  1. Pingback: Coming Out | Stop The Rise

Leave a Reply

